In Honor of Veteran’s Day

My favorite veteran of all time is my mother. She joined the Navy in 1973 at the ripe young age of 18, and worked as a corpsman. After having kids, she spent several years in the reserves during which time she also finished college. She was commissioned as a Naval officer in 1988.

In August of 1990 my mom, a single mother, had to leave her babies behind when she left for training in Virginia before heading to Saudi Arabia to do her part in what would become the Gulf War. I cried myself to sleep each and every night she was gone. My mom was a part of Fleet Hospital 5. And until I sat down today and actually looked it up, I had no idea how revolutionary her work in that desert truly was. Apparently, her fleet hospital was the very first that was ever mobilized and deployed. Pretty cool, huh? I don’t know a great deal about the time she spent there other than it was hot and the generators were very noisy. My mom doesn’t like to talk about it very much. Finally, after what felt like an eternity for everyone involved, she came home in February of 1991.

After returning from Desert Storm, my mom went on to get her master’s degree and become a nurse anesthetist. When she retired from the Navy in 2003, she was awarded with the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal for her years of service. I love to joke about my mom being the Hurricane and all, but what she really is to me is a hero.

13 thoughts on “In Honor of Veteran’s Day

    • Makes me cry, too! When I wrote this I was like 3 weeks pregnant with Connor and obviously didn’t know yet but the way I was boo-hooing the whole time I was writing was a big tip-off. That and the nose like a beagle.

Leave a Reply

