The power of music to transform and my newest vintage appliance, the Mixmaster

So I was getting the kids ready for school this morning and my husband turned on the Malt Shop Oldies radio station on DirecTV (channel 802). This, combined with my recent viewing of the new TV show Pan Am (loved it!), did some type of number on my brain. Instantly I was a 1960’s housewife. I started to think of what we had in the Frigidaire because I needed to cook breakfast for the kids. We were out of eggs but thank goodness we had some Tang! In my head I was planning my first Tupperware party. I half expected to turn around and see my husband in a robe and slippers, smoking a pipe while sitting in a recliner. I actually went out to the garage to check if my Nissan had been swapped out for a Studebaker. And I was this close to putting on an apron for the day and preparing to cook a pot roast.

All this talk really has me jonesing to watch one of my favorite movies of all time, Shag: The Movie.

Turns out I do not own the DVD so I can’t (but now you have a great idea for a Christmas present for me!). I would love a mental break right now so I could “go to Myrtle Beach and meet boys and go to wild parties and dance!”. I digress.

This was not the first time music has had this type of effect on me. I absolutely cannot listen to “Angel” by Sarah McLachlan without crying. “The Living Years” by Mike + The Mechanics has a similar effect on my tear ducts. And whenever I hear “Hey Ya!” by Outkast I cannot help but turn it up loud and start bopping around like some type of spastic animal. I don’t really like country music but I do like the Dixie Chicks. And darn it if I don’t have to hold myself back from putting on a cowboy hat whenever they come on the radio!

What about you? Does music have this same transformative power over everyone? Surely I am not freakish…right? OK, that’s all for now, I’ve got to go get the Mixmaster fired up and bake a cake or something. Ya know, just for funskies.

Leave a Reply

